Epic Road Trip, Day 1

God bless my knack for going in the wrong direction in life most of the time.

IMG_20140501_150246015

I’m in Arlington, VA for the Supernatural DC Con.  From my home, it’s a little over a 4 hour drive, assuming the traffic cooperates which it never does once you reach the outskirts of Northern Virginia.  I grew up here so I should know!

But I made it here in less than 4 hours yesterday!  I only hit traffic once I got on 395 and even then it cleared quickly.

I totally flubbed planning for this trip.  When I bought my tickets, I didn’t realize that photo ops with the stars weren’t included.  Rookie mistake.  And I only realized this last week!  So I went online to buy the photo ops I wanted, mostly Misha, (but Jensen too!) and both were sold out.  Sadness, panic, and chaos ensued.  To make up for my apparent dipstickiness, I went ahead and purchased photo ops for Jared, Mark, Sebastian, Matt, Osric, and Dick.  Cause you know, nothing makes you feel better after a blunder than dropping some major cash.

But alas, I couldn’t get it out of my head that I was going to miss Misha.  As in, taking a picture with him was the entire reason I booked this trip to begin with!

Lucky for me, Misha’s schedule changed and the convention added more photo ops for Sunday, only you had to buy them when you got here.

And pre-registration started yesterday.

But I wasn’t scheduled to arrive until today.

Sadness, panic, and chaos ensued!

But in the end, it all worked out.  Lookie see what I got!

IMG_20140502_073445082

Oh and I got one for Jensen too!  Whoop!

And the best part, even better than getting the tickets I was after, was meeting so many friendly and helpful Supernatural fans.  Everyone I spoke with was eager to help me – one even offered to let me crash her photo op with Misha if I couldn’t get a ticket!  How friggin’ cool is that?!  The Supernatural fandom is so awesome.

Look for more posts from me about the weekend!  Can’t wait to share all I see and do!

Leave a comment